Nigeria’s World Cup 2018 23-man squad released


With just 11 days to the 2018 world cup, the Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr has finally named his 23-man squad. Remember, the Super Eagles have only managed a draw in the last 3 friendly matches, 1-0 lost to Poland in March, 1-1 draw with Congo DR on Monday, and the last night 2-1 defeat in Wembley against England. The Super Eagles head coach will get an opportunity to showcase the full squad on 6th of this month in another friendly match against Czech Republic in preparation for their first group game against Croatia on 16th of June.

Nigeria 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa).

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium); William Troost-Ekong and Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey); Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa, Turkey).

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Joel Obi (Torino, Italy); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel).

Forwards:  Victor Moses (Chelsea, England); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England); Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone, Italy).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here